Coleman Hawkins/Don Byas - Solos for Study

Transcribed by Fred Hess

Item# JSA176
Book: $ 16.95
Playjazz   866 528 9224

Includes solos over the changes to:

  • One Hour
  • Body And Soul
  • I Got Rhythm
  • Bean's Talking Again
  • Well You Needn't
  • A Jazz Portrait of Bridgette Bardot
  • and others.
  • Plus analysis with each song.
  • Solos range in date over three decades (1929- 1960).
  • Lengthy analysis is provided for Hawkins famous 1939 "Body And Soul" recording and Byas' 1944 "I Got Rhythm".
  • Also, Byas' 1946 reworking of Hawkins'
  • "Body And Soul" is examined in detail.

    Includes - Short biographies of each musician.

    Use of motivic elements, as well as the harmonic sophistication of each saxophonist is included in the textual analysis of each song.
  • - 866 528 9224

    Problems Ordering? Click Here